A record season for Formula 1 ® in 2020

  • The 70th anniversary season will include 22 event
  • An new country will debut in the pinnacle of motorsport: Vietnam
  • Formula 1 will return to Netherlands, in Zandvoort

Formula 1® is delighted to release the draft calendar of the 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship. This will be submitted for approval during the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting on 4th October.

For the first time ever, the Formula 1 calendar will comprise 22 Grands Prix. Ten events will be held in Europe, seven in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia. As already announced, Melbourne gets the seventieth season underway on 15th March and, as usual, it will end on 29th November with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the Yas Marina circuit.

A new country makes its debut as a host nation in 2020 with Vietnam becoming the 34th country to stage a round of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship, with a race in the capital Hanoi on 5th April. A famous name from the past returns in the shape of the Zandvoort circuit, which will be the venue for the Dutch Grand Prix on 3rd May.

This year, several historic events – Australia, Great Britain and Spain – have renewed their contracts, as has the more recent and spectacular Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Mexico City will continue to host a race for the next three years under the new title of Mexico City Grand Prix. And, currently being finalised is an extension to the contract with the Italian Grand Prix, which next weekend celebrates its ninetieth anniversary.

Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO, Formula 1®, said:

“It’s with great pleasure that today we publish the draft 2020 calendar. It’s the year in which the series that is the pinnacle of motorsport celebrates its seventieth anniversary with, for the first time, a 22 race calendar. It is significant for our sport and confirms our long-term strategy. Since we became involved in this sport in 2017, we have talked about developing new destination cities to broaden the appeal of Formula 1 and at the same time, consolidating our presence in Europe, the traditional home of the sport. Therefore, we have Vietnam making its debut in the capital Hanoi, one of the most exciting cities in the world right now with such a rich history and an incredible future ahead of it. And we also have the return of the historic Zandvoort circuit, on the outskirts of another vibrant city, Amsterdam, for the Dutch Grand Prix. In addition, we have extended our agreement with Silverstone, home to the British Grand Prix, which in 1950 hosted the first of the 1009 events held to date and we are in negotiations with the Monza circuit which has hosted more Grands Prix (68) than any other track. We are also pleased that, this year, we have renewed the agreements with Mexico City and two countries, Australia and Azerbaijan, which have gone

for long-term extensions well ahead of the end of their current contracts with us. The season with a record 22 Grands Prix has received unanimous support from the FIA and all the teams and clearly demonstrates the confidence that exists in the future of our sport, which with over 500 million fans remains one of the most followed and popular in the world.”

The draft calendar to be submitted to the WMSC is*:

Date Grand Prix Venue
15 March Australia Melbourne
22 March Bahrain Sakhir
5 April Vietnam Hanoi
19 April China Shanghai
3 May Netherlands Zandvoort
10 May Spain Barcelona
24 May Monaco Monaco
7 June Azerbaijan Baku
14 June Canada Montreal
28 June France Le Castellet
5 July Austria Spielberg
19 July Great Britain Silverstone
2 August Hungary Budapest
30 August Belgium Spa
6 September Italy** Monza
20 September Singapore Singapore
27 September Russia Sochi
11 October Japan Suzuka
25 October United States Austin
1 November Mexico City Mexico City
15 November Brazil Sao Paulo
29 November Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi

*Subject to FIA WMSC approval

**Subject to contract signature




Notes to editors: Formula 1 Press Office

E: [email protected] T: @f1media


Formula 1® racing began in 1950 and is the world’s most prestigious motor racing competition, as well as the world’s most popular annual sporting series: The 2019 FIA Formula One World Championship™ runs from March to December and spans 21 races in 21 countries across four continents. Formula One World Championship Limited is part of Formula 1® and holds the exclusive commercial rights to the FIA Formula One World Championship™.

Formula 1® is a subsidiary of Liberty Media Corporation (NASDAQ: LSXMA, LSXMB, LSXMK, BATRA, BATRK, FWONA, FWONK) attributed to the Formula One Group tracking stock.

The F1 logo, F1 FORMULA 1 logo, FORMULA 1, F1, FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, GRAND PRIX, PADDOCK CLUB and related marks are trade marks of Formula One Licensing BV, a Formula 1 company. All rights reserved.